Get Adobe Flash player


Terri Rittenburg, Amy Williamson, Susan Simpson and Judy Knight represented League at the ceremony to celebrate the 147th anniversary of the first woman voting on an equal basis with men, at the Women's History House in Laramie.  The program was put on by the Louisa Swain Foundation, which owns and operates the house with the help of docents from the Laramie Plains Museum.


There will also be a much bigger ceremony in the year 2020, which will commemorate not only the 150th anniversary of Louisa Gardiner Swain's historic vote, but also the 100th anniversary of universal suffrage for women in the United States, with the ratification by the 36th state of the 19th Amendment to the Constitution of the United States.

Find Us On Facebook