Making Democracy Work

The League of Women Voters of Wyoming honors those who support and foster good government. See our award winners on the Making Democracy Work page.

Award Details


This year's award went to Arshi Rizwani-Nisley. The ceremony was held on September 6th.

See the press coverage here:


Matt Strannigan, state coordinator of the Wyoming We the People (WTP) Program, received the 2016 “Making Democracy Work” award given by the Wyoming League of Women Voters on September 7.

In Wyoming Supreme Court Chambers, state and local dignitaries lauded Strannigan for growing civics education in the state. Wyoming LWV President Amy Williamson said, “What Matt has done with WTP gets to the core of the LWV’s Making Democracy Work Award and supports the reason we exist.” Secretary of State Ed Murray congratulated him for his efforts to encourage high school students to become the best citizens possible. Murray noted that the voter turnout rate for Wyoming young people ages 18 to 24 is just 10%; on the other hand, 92% of students who complete the WTP program vote.

The We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution program was created to commemorate the framing and adoption of the U.S. Constitution and the Bill of Rights and to revitalize education programs in the nation’s schools. Students prepare for competitive hearings by completing an instructional program using the text We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution. Team members become experts on areas of the constitution and “testify” before a panel of judges, legal scholars, justices, lawyers, and civic and community leaders.

In accepting the award, Strannigan thanked LWV and spoke about the impact the program has had on students and teachers throughout the state. Mary Garland, Ellbogen Foundation; William U. Hill, Wyoming Supreme Court, and Dick Kean, Wyoming History Day coordinator also spoke.


Joan Barron, reporter for the Casper Star-Tribune was the recipient. Her newspaper published an appreciative biography .